Posts Tagged ‘morning joe’

…not in terms of entertainment, Willie and Savannah are entertaining, (I really think the show is a good influence on younger journalists in the sense that it keep them from taking themselves too seriously, that will pay dividends, both personal and professional, for decades) but in terms of balance.

Item: The Wet sloppy kiss stuff continues, Pat was outnumbered 3-1 and discussing the poll without not pointing to the skew of the poll sample. It’s not hard to get a 53% approval when you have a 10 point democratic vs republican sample.

Item: They have talked about Sarah Palin only 4-1, O’Donnell gets props for pointing out that without Palin there would not be a strong counter point. Unfortunately for some reason although they’ve talked about her appearing for McCain (calling it uncomfortable). Not a word about the “dozens” in Searchlight.

Item: We are about to have our second hit on the Pope with Pat outnumbered 3-1 this time (Norah O’Donnell has joined the table along with Mark Penn), they are quoting Maureen Dowd, always an unbiased source on the church. O’Donnell is of course talking about “bringing down the church”. Pat brings up yet again that the liberal Milwaukee diocese role and the fact that the case came to the then Cardinal Ratzinger two months before the priest in question died. It was also very dishonest to suggest that the Pope reference to “gossip” was about the abuse in Milwaukee rather than the allegations people are trying to make against him.

It is not quite 8 a.m. yet EST so maybe we will see something different but it would be nice to see at least one more Conservative sitting at that table. I think it can be done without too many MSNBC viewers going Kryten.

Oh boy 8 a.m. and the Kelly O’Donnell joins the table creating as Savannah put it an “O’Donnell sandwich”, (I shudder to think what Stacy & Ace will do with that image.) that will add to the media balance, I do give Kelly full marks for pointed out how the Democrats managed to avoid recess to keep President Bush from doing recess appointments during his last term.

Update: Did I just hear Norah O’Donnell call the tea party people “good hard working Americans”? Did she point out the number of women as leaders? And then she goes and spoils it by repeating the Pope BS. Oh well. You take what I can get.

…concerning the Milwaukee Diocese. Specifically Buchanan brought up how the particular issue that the media is trying to hit the pope with originated from a very liberal diocese that doesn’t have much of a history of being in “lockstep” with the Vatican.

If you want, you know actual information rather than the tripe that we’ve seen even in papers like the Herald the best spot is of course here. For example lets meet the primary source of these stories:

The second source was Archbishop Rembert Weakland, retired archbishop of Milwaukee. He is the most discredited and disgraced bishop in the United States, widely known for mishandling sexual-abuse cases during his tenure, and guilty of using $450,000 of archdiocesan funds to pay hush money to a former homosexual lover who was blackmailing him. Archbishop Weakland had responsibility for the Father Murphy case between 1977 and 1998, when Father Murphy died. He has long been embittered that his maladministration of the Archdiocese of Milwaukee earned him the disfavor of Pope John Paul II and Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger, long before it was revealed that he had used parishioners’ money to pay off his clandestine lover. He is prima facie not a reliable source.

That’s just a glimpse, believe it or not it gets better (or worse if you are a foe of the Vatican). When Pat brought up Milwaukee, Savannah and Willie started hemming and hawing.

The British press have been on full attack mode too, aided by Richard Dawkins, Damion Thompson described his article best.

The article conjures up the image of a nasty old man who’s losing his marbles. It’s not very nice about the Pope, either.

I like Dawkins wife but can’t write about her till Lent is over. Meanwhile surprise surprise guess who pushed for a full investigation of this stuff a decade ago?

Don’t expect much traction for that story after all it doesn’t fit the narrative.

Pope Benedict one said that if the media starts treating him nice he would worry about what he was doing, from what I can see he must be doing very well.

As for the times and co, I’d tell you what I think of them but I’d have to go to confession afterward.

…if Fidel Castro is endorsing his healthcare plan?

Isn’t that awesome? We’re finally “catching up” to the oppressive, poverty-stricken, third world ashtray of Cuba! Wouldn’t it be awesome if we just ended up like Cuba? I can’t wait to see the utopia that’s surely just around the corner!

Maybe we can eventually have a tyrannical murderer and blustering anthropoid “leader” like they do – one that cares about “the poor.” An Obamacrat can dream

And Hotair points out asks a relevant question?

Say, I wonder if that’s why Castro’s happy — because he knows where “common sense, middle of the road” reform in this case is likely to lead.

Val Prieto provides some links to what it leads to in Cuba, not for the faint of heart.

Well if we can’t call him a socialist perhaps there is another word we can call him:

In an editorial that the Obama Administration surely wishes had not been written, American communist newspaper People’s World issued a ringing endorsement of President Obama and the Democrats’ actions in muscling Obamacare through Congress over bipartisan opposition, with the editorial board of the communist newspaper claiming that the “enactment of this bill is an enormous victory for the broad progressive movement in our country” while oddly claiming that “almost every sector of American society” and “ordinary people from throughout the country applauded President Obama” and Pelosi for passing Obamacare.

Hey if it walks like a duck…

BTW props to Mika Brzezinski on Morning Joe for asking Claire McCaskill about this today.

Moron Morning Joe today Ron Paul and Joe took turns hitting the Republicans over the head saying there was no difference. Paul Suggested we needed “new blood” in congress. Gee Where can the Republicans find it:

Maybe if the show had gone to CPAC they might have met people like Rick Barber

and Col Allen West.

Somehow they missed Les Phillip

and couldn’t find Katherine Jenerette.

They haven’t interviewed Patrick Murray

Or the incredible Patricia Sullivan:

Some guy with a Fedora managed to find this new blood out there. With a little effort Joe and Mika could do so too. Hey Joe for $1k a week plus travel I’ll do it for you!

Update: Smitty finds another Diamond named Christine O’Donnell. Another one that hasn’t made the show yet. Oh and btw The “moron” at the start of the post believe it or not, was a typo. I didn’t notice it till I got ready to put on this update but rather than just pull it I figured I’d use a strike since it was up for a while and I don’t want to duck the error since it was pejorative.