Archive for the ‘Always look at the bright side of Trump’ Category

Prime Minister James Hacker:  If there were a conflict of interests which side would the civil service really be on?

Bernard Woolley:  The winning side prime Minister

Yes Prime Minister:  A Real Partnership 1985

If there is one axiom in the political world it’s that people want to be on the winning side because it’s the winning side that will decide who gets the contracts and patronage that comes from government.

Furthermore it’s the losing side that tends to get scrutiny and if you are someone doing something dishonest or if the people who decide to examine you (think J6 committee) are dishonest.

This is what came to my mind when I saw this story:

On Friday, in a Fox News exclusive interview, former President Donald Trump reportedly received $12 million from tech company giants in the Silicon Valley fundraiser Thursday evening, and gained the expected endorsement from one of the Valley’s heavy hitters, David Sacks:

and this one:

You see people are figuring out which way the wind is blowing and have decided that it might be a good idea to follow that breeze rather than sail against it. They might not care for Trump and they may or may not have pure motives for it but they don’t want to be on the wrong side when all is said and done.

There is a passage in the book Lord Hornblower that is a great example of how such things work:

Two hours” said Hornblower “will be ample for all preparations to be made, for the deputation to assemble, for the streets to be decorated, for quarters to be prepared for His Royal Highness and his’s suite.”

“Monsieur, you do not understand all that this implies” protested the Mayor. “It means ”

“It means that you have having to decide whether to enjoy the King’s favour or not” .said Hornblower. “That is the choice before you.”

C. S. Forester: Lord Hornblower 1946

Now even late in the Napoleonic Wars such a decision to come out against Bonaparte carried danger, unfortunately for the Democrats this is the person they are crying Vive L’Empereur! for.

and this:

You don’t need the Journal to tell you that Biden is diminished. You need only to open your eyes. Go over Special Counsel Robert Hur’s report into Biden’s unauthorized removal of classified documents. Review Biden’s Oval Office meltdown after Hur released his findings. Watch Biden try to sit at a D-Day commemoration in France on Thursday.

Or read, if you dare, the transcript of Time magazine correspondent Massimo Calabresi and editor in chief Sam Jacobs’s recent interview of Biden. It appeared the same day as Linskey and Hughes’s story.

This is the interview where Biden says—twice—that Russia invaded Russia. Where, immediately after saying, “I’m not going to comment,”

or even this:

I’m going to go out on a limb here and suggest if you’re reached the point of low level comics offering to hump a black voter if they come out against Trump odds are your side is not putting the fear of God into anyone..

The people see the writing on the wall and are acting accordingly.

  • Sir Bedevere: What makes you think she’s a witch?
  • Peasant: Well, she turned me into a newt!
  • Sir Bedevere: A newt?
  • Peasant: [meekly after a long pause] Got better.
Monty Python and the Holy Grail 1975

The Jack Smith “Trump is going to have his enemies killed if elected” story brought back memories of a young lady I once knew.

About 7 years or so ago, just before my temp job became a full time one I used to work with a particular young lady.

She was 30 years younger than me, very intelligent and a hard worker. Her older sister had gone to school with my youngest son and also worked at the place but as a full timer. 

We got along like a house on fire although we were about as politically and religiously different as we could be. I was a straight devout Catholic who after Ted Cruz had lost in the primaries was all in on Trump and while she was a lesbian or perhaps bi who was all in or Bernie and had walked away from the Church, though devoted to her still devout French Canadian grandmother.

While as I said we got along well one of the things about her that regularly dove me nuts was her INSISTANCE that Donald Trump was going to put her in a gulag for being a lesbian.

No argument or evidence could convince her otherwise and even after Trump’s election she remained convinced that any day now a Trumpian gestapo would come for her to her final day at the company back in January of 2018 she clung to this belief. I ran into her older sister who left the company a year or so ago (a great loss to the place) last week and inquired about her. She told me her sister was doing well and apart from the COVID isolation that everyone had gone through had not in fact ended up in a gulag during the entire span of Donald Trump’s presidency.

Which brings us to election 2024.

I’ve already noted the invincible irrational hatred that some have for Trump which I think will be a real problem come election day, but the only thing more irrational than that hatred (particularly from some conservatives) is the abject fear of some liberals of a 2nd Trump term in terms of their personal freedom.

To put it simply. If there is one thing that was perfectly clear during the Trump years is that while he had harsh words and abrasive and even insulting tweets for those who opposed him Trump did not censor nor imprison those who opposed him loudly.

You’d think that if Trump was a wanna be dictator he might have, you know, acted like a dictator, imprisoned a few folks on “Trumped” up charges, used the power of the FBI or the IRS against them or even gone after those burning cities and thrown the book at them for their terroristic actions.

Or to put it another way: If you ask people to raise their hand if Donald Trump imprisoned or even censored you for speaking out against him during his first term the number of hands that will go up will be equal to the number of Camels this person has spotted.

On the contrary it was In fact it was Trump himself who was often censored and/or misrepresented particularly when he suggested that there were treatments for COVID out there that were effective and the Biden administration who has used all of these tactics on those who might dare suggest that the previous election was not clean and the government’s statements on COVID might not be all that accurate.

Put simply Trump has a record of not imprisoning’s or harming his foes, so what makes anybody think that he’s going to be doing so if re-elected, particularly since he will go into office as an instant lame duck who can’t run for a 3rd term?

Of course this kind of logic is lost on the Jack Smiths of the world and on those who think looting and burning cities is fine but walking through the capital while police hold doors open for you is high treason and can’t tell the difference between barbarians who rape murder and kidnap women and children and those who retaliate against the folks who do so.

No amount of argument will apply here. This is a matter of faith for them and if we are blessed with a 2nd Trump term they will insist that their lack of imprisonment was simply because he either didn’t get around to it or that the brave democrats of the house prevented him from doing so.

Unexpectedly of course.


Little Christmas is here and we’re still $2345 & 10 subscribers short of our goal. If you’d like to change that please hit DaTipJar below

I’m old enough to remember when, just a few years ago, our friends in the left absolutely and positively insisted that anyone like me who claims the last election was stolen was some kind of conspiracy theorist? And yet now we have not only the story of Colorado by legal decision and Maine by practically a Royal Fiat banning Trump from the ballot.

At the same time and with none of the fanfare of those events we have the republican AG of Georgia who was vital in the cases against Trump suddenly appealing a ruling that he has to testify under oath about the Dominion voting systems that he apparently is going to have an updated security patch install for AFTER the next presidential election.

If things are clean wouldn’t you want to make it a point to note under oath just how clean they are?


I still can’t get over the idea of how much would have been different if the left/democrats simply treated Donald Trump as a normal Presidential candidate and as a normal president and had not bothered all that was done in 2020.

He would be in the final year of his second term and riding off into the sunset. Russia would not be in Ukraine, Hamas would have been kept in check, the US economy would have been booming, the border secure and our strategic petroleum reserve still full

I strongly suspect those who did all they could to steal the last election consider those things as bugs rather than features, less opportunity for graft you see.

Older and wiser heads alas didn’t prevail


Speaking of being old enough to remember I was going through an old backup hard drive I found which had all sorts of goodies from 2015 from me guest hosing Conservatively speaking on WCRN to old podcasts and coverage of all kinds of stuff from all over the country.

One thing I noticed was from a GOP event in NH that included Donald Trump before he had announced. He was leaving the hotel where the potential candidates were and I filmed his departure in passing thinking nothing of it.

Not a single person had a clue what was coming at the time.


I’m also old enough to remember when Swatting was confined to folks like Stacy McCain and the like. 

You might forget that during the Kimberlin years Stacy and others involved in exposing that crowd were swatted. At the time I even went to my local police to warn them of that tactic since I was writing on the subject at the time. People didn’t seem to take it all that seriously.

But now we have members of congress and prominent folks like Johnathan Turley now targets

It would have been nice if this stuff was nipped in the bud early but like the banning of conservatives on twitter and youtube it wasn’t considered important enough to tackle so thus you get more of it

Finally yesterday my wife was working and my sons were engaged elsewhere so I went to my local Longhorn restaurant, sat at the bar, order the Spicy Bites (the single best appetizer value/taste combo that exists at any national chain) opened up Volume 3 of Shelby Foote’s epic Civil War trilogy to Hood defeat at Nashville by Thomas and watched the Boston Celtics play the Toronto Raptors at home.

It was the 2nd day of a back to back and stars Jason Tatum and Kristas Porzingis were not dressed and vet Al Horford were all unavailable so we saw a lot of reserves getting serious playing time. It was an exciting game with an odd finish where the Celtics blew a 20 point lead and had to eek out a win that wasn’t decided till the final second of the game, but two things jumped out at me that I hadn’t seen much of if at all in years

At one point in the 2nd quarter when the Celtics lead was seemingly comfortable I looked up at the screen and was shocked to see an NBA team with practically an all white team on the floor, technically you could call it an all “white” five because the only player of color on the floor was ironically Derrick White (who has really come into his own this season) who frankly is light enough to as they used to say in the old days “pass”.

I suspect it’s been more than half a century since that has been the case but there was something that was even more shocking to me that NBA fans haven’t seen much of these days and that was the play of Center Luke Kornet who instead of launching 3 point shots from the outside was actually hustling to be under the basket to retrieve rebounds and be in a position to be fed for easy layups by a charging White or Brown.

Just a decade or two ago a center playing, well like a Center would not be much of a story but in today’s game it’s practically headline news. I’d like to see more of it because in the end, that tends to pay off.


Note: Our days of Christmas fundraiser is in progress although in fairness it’s been a bit of a bust as we’re still at $2900 & 10 subscribers to go. If you’d like to help change that read more here or donate below:

Yesterday I watched the GOP debate till 3 am (my rundown here) and after getting my 1999 LeSabre inspected by a kid younger than the car and having lunch with DaWife got home with just enough time to watch the Tucker Carlson interview with Trump. Here are my thoughts:


The opening question concerning skipping the debate was a tad obvious but what was less obvious and less expected was his question about the decline of TV in general. This is a subject that has large cultural significance and it reminds one that Trump was very popular on TV for many years and is a expert on the subject. His commentary there had little to do with the election 2024 but was very fascinating concerning how the medium works.


It didn’t take long for me to conclude that Trump was exactly right strategically in skipping the debate and doing this interview instead. Not only for the sake of avoiding questions and attacks that he might not want to deal with but because of how comfortable he was in the format. I thought it was much better than a rally speech in the sense that he was in the position to expand on some subject and give some excellent insights on several subjects. It’s an appealing side of Trump that he would be wise to use more often.


I think the single biggest moment from the interview was Trump explaining to Tucker why the the indictments have not hurt and in fact have helped his poll ratings, noting that “The American people get it”. One does not have to have Trump as their first choice for the nomination to notice that the prosecutions of him are prosecution, particularly compared to how the Biden’s are treated.

A close second was his line about the Biden admin going after gas stoves etc etc. The “Let people buy everything.” should be adopted by every GOP candidate running for any national office there is. It’s a landslide maker that perfectly encapsulates the frustration folks have with the appliance Nazis out there


If I had to name the single biggest contrast between this interview and the debate it’s that Tucker gave Trump had a chance to hit Biden in detail while the Fox team seemed to do their best to shield him. Trump went in heavy on the corruption of the Biden while the GOP candidates strained to get in a few words on a subject ignored by the hosts.

His case against Biden and his noting of little things that give the game away were very significant and that’s why I suspect there is no way Joe Biden will debate him or any GOP candidate in a general election race.


All in all I think it was a good exercise for Trump but about 5 minutes after it was done something hit me square in the face. Tucker Carlson gave him time to answer and the conversation was good but there were two words that I didn’t recall hearing in those 45 minutes:

“COVID” and “FAUCI”

It would seem inconceivable to me that a subject that took up a full quarter of his term as president was ignored by Tucker Carlson and didn’t rate a question. I suspect this was not an accident and might have even been a condition of the him getting the interview.

I found the omission glaring because sooner or later he’s going to have to answer questions on that subject and I also suspect it’s one of the reasons why the administration would prefer to run against Trump because neither COVID nor Fauci are subjects that the left in general and Joe Biden in particular want to talk about and as long as Trump is the guy he’s running against he won’t have to .

Update: Played the interview again for DaWife and she says she heard Trump say the word COVID in reference to Biden having an excuse to stay in the basement so I stand corrected but again there was no conversation about the COVID response of the Trump administration


All in all I’d still say it was a good job by and for Trump and a smart move, but I think in the end he ends up in a GOP debate, perhaps not the next one or the one after that but when there are only two or three opponents left I don’t think the “duck and cover” will work in the long term for him, but we will see.