Posts Tagged ‘2010 elections’

Pa-12 still hasn’t seemed to capture the imagination of the readership but things seems to be happening there:

The polling shows a very close race — with Burns in the lead. That has Democrats worried about how other normally-safe districts might turn out in November. That fear has come out in Critz’ campaigning, where he has tried walking a tightrope between opposition to ObamaCare and refusing to commit to overturning it. In a debate yesterday, Burns hammered Critz as to whether his opposition means anything at all if he refuses to take action once elected, a hypocrisy that will not have gone unnoticed by voters watching the debate.

Both national parties have spent plenty of money on this race, with the NRCC outpacing the DCCC by almost $100,000. The DCCC has split its advertising between positive ads on Critz and negative ads against Burns. That’s a bit of a surprise, considering a Democrat shouldn’t feel the need to sell himself in a district with a 2-1 registration advantage. It shows the big problem Democrats face, which is a decided lack of enthusiasm among their own base in the face of overwhelming enthusiasm among Republicans and independents. That’s exactly what has them panicked.

This sounds an awful lot like the Scott Brown election. I think I have a little bit of experience in that regard. It there is news there I’d like to cover it.

I’m scheduled my car to be looked at Tuesday Morning. Once I confirm it can handle it I’d like to head down there. As Robert Stacy said I’m going to need at least $440 to cover the drive down, a Hotel for at least one day and maybe a meal or two. With something left over to show DaWife (who still haven’t forgiven me for Jumping on the Tea Party Express to cover the Washington Events with nothing but my Fedora and Laptop.) that I can actually cover bills doing this. I’ve been married 22 years but I can only survive so many trips to the dog house in a short period in time.

If I can get up to $600 I can manage perhaps 3 days down there. If I can do better then that I can stay through the election and risk the family’s wrath for spending my birthday (election day) down there.
So it’s up to you guys. I haven’t had a nibble on the DaTipJar since before Stacy suggested I head down there. I’m a conservative, I can’t justify a trip if I can’t pay for it so if you want me down there I have to ask you to hit…

DaTipJar.

It’s your call and I’ll abide by your decision.

his piece from the globe on the death of Mother Theresa is my favorite column of all time on any subject. It’s not available online but you can get a glimpse of the idea of it here:

Well, I think the past week has been, you know, nearly totally media-driven. I think it’s–we’re crazed by celebrity in this culture, not just here in this country. And much of the coverage of the funeral is certainly media-driven, and much of the attraction to the coverage is because it’s so media-driven. And an odd thing happened today. If you believe in God, or a higher being, it’s almost as if God tapped the news media around the world on the shoulder at about 1 o’clock this afternoon and said, “It’s time to straighten your priorities out. Mother Teresa is dead.”

For five straight days we have been making Princess Diana larger than life. She seems like a very wonderful woman, a nice woman. She was 36 years of age. A woman died in Calcutta today who spent all of her life touching the poor and helping the poor. And I’m going to be interested, and I think many Americans would be interested to see if Peter Jennings and Dan Rather and CNN and Tom Brokaw go to Calcutta.

Now today on Morning Joe it was a pox upon all incumbent houses. Sorry Mike you should know better, it isn’t republican incumbents in trouble. Show me some polls that indicate that? It is democrats who are on the run, if you don’t believe me ask David Olby.

Now Margaret Carlson on the same show is trying to talk about the “two year cycle”, the of course the administration will lose seats line.

You would think the tea parties and this healthcare nonsense never happened. C’mon guys!

And Barnicle you still need to get them to do a show from a diner in Fitchburg.

Update: Bennett is Utah is one I should have thought of.

First of all thanks to everyone who checked out my examiner articles it’s makes a different and covers a bill or two.

Second I’m no longer going to be keeping the running totals at the top of the blog, I’m just going to put up say 3 posts a week like this one to let you know what’s happening on the Pa-12, Ga-4 front. So here goes…

On the Pa-12 front I have seen absolutely no interest from people. In terms of contributions I’ve picked up nearly…nearly 1. So I am still $440 away from spending my birthday watching Tim Burns win in Pa. UPDATE $390 to go now He sure will with ads like this:

If you think Stacy & Roxeanne are right hit DaTipJar and help get me down there. Maybe I can even talk Roxeanne into coming too. (specify Pa-12 in comments). The clock is really ticking fast on this one. For every extra $150 over the amount over the $440 I’ll stay an extra day (Roxeanne permitting).

As for the Atlanta trip. My pal Vinnie has offered to put me up so lets call that worth $250. That leaves me $880 to go, the one problem is the closer I get to the travel date the more the price can change. If you want to kick in toward that one again hit DaTipJar and put Ga-4 in comments.

I’ll put up about 3 of these updates a week for now. On June 1st I’m going to go all out to find out just how much I’m worth compared to Andrew Sullivan. Stay tuned.

Update: The Call for help in Pa-12 is sounded by Robert Stacy, can you help me get there to see it?

On Morning Joe today the Politico mentioned the latest polling concerning the Arizona law and reported the “counter-intuitive” results that supporting this law is a big win for pols.

New polling indicates broad public support for the measure and illustrates the peril embattled Democrats could face this November over the issue.

In the South and Midwest, where some of the most competitive congressional races will be fought, popular sentiment is overwhelmingly in favor of the controversial new law

You mean to say the 10,000 is greater than the 300? Who knew!

If all you watch is MSNBC, (and that’s all I watch from 6-9) then you would think that although the federal government has dropped the ball to some degree, this law is the is the greatest border outrage since German Troops crossed into the Rhineland.

Apparently the American Public disagrees and a choice has to be made:

It represents yet another issue on which they’ll be forced to decide between their liberal base and national leadership, who are outraged over what they view as a draconian law, and equally angry constituents who want to crack down on illegal immigrants.

The media was left out of the democratic base here but that’s ok. The result will be the same.

10,000 or 300 make your pick.