Archive for February, 2010

To the shock of nobody, Morning Joe goes after Sarah Palin as a one trick pony this morning. I can guarantee that this week Deepak Chopra will be there to tout his story in the huff po.

It is interesting to note what journalists from abroad saw vs some on the left that already has their own image of both the Tea Parties and Sarah Palin.

If you want to be surprised, be surprised that they haven’t gone nuts over her hand like the rest of the left UPDATE: Andrea Mitchell does it later in the cast. If you are surprised at the hand job jokes from our enlightened members of the left who are supposedly not a bit sexist then you haven’t read the reclusive leftist at all in the last 18 months:

Will it never end? Tonight the news is full of yammering about Sarah Palin writing on her hand. This is apparently more evidence that she is a moron bimbo from outer space, etc., etc., etc.

I used to have a boyfriend who wrote on his hand. I thought it was a rather juvenile habit for a grownup, but whatever. (I used to ask him why he didn’t just buy a fricking notepad. He insisted that hands were more convenient.) The thing is, nobody ever accused him of being stupid because of it. He had a graduate degree or two and was a successful executive in the financial industry.

What kinds of things did he write on his hand? The same kinds of things I write on my notepad. Words. Names. Reminders that are meaningless to anyone else.

So Sarah Palin writes on her hand. Just like my ex-boyfriend. Big whoop.

And if it isn’t hand jobs, it is a Chris Wallace eye roll? Give me a break!

Watching Andrea Mitchell this morning I’m shocked she doesn’t have a coronary every time Palin goes on stage anywhere. Oh now Mitchell goes with the hand stuff. What a bunch of losers!

Founding Bloggers puts it best:

Note to the left: You can read the writing on the hand, or the writing on the wall. Take your pick.

They have made their pick.

Hey Joe how is that book selling for ya?

Update: Legal Insurrection spots more Liberal Misogyny.

Well that’s just lovely…

Posted: February 7, 2010 by datechguy in employment, personal
Tags: ,

The telecert is STILL saying that I have no benefits two weeks after I was told in person otherwise.

As I didn’t receive either a check or a direct deposit last week I guess it will be another early morning at the unemployment office. Oh joy!

On the plus side I got through to the telecert on a Sunday. Rule of thumb: always call during the Superbowl

And they choose the right side in the Planned Parenthood Fight:

It may be difficult, despite the sustained and growing public outcry, to prevent the Planned Parenthood League of Massachusetts from opening a branch on Main Street in Fitchburg, or somewhere else in the city.

But that should not prevent city officials from trying, particularly if the non-profit organization sticks with its plan to open on Main Street, something we have said is a terrible idea for a city trying to lure more upscale businesses and Fitchburg State College students to the downtown.

They apparently share the same opinion of the city solicitor that I have:

We find Ciota’s suggestion that city officials could open themselves up to a lawsuit if the City Council passed this resolution laughable at best.

To suggest that Planned Parenthood could successfully sue city officials because the City Council passed what is essentially a non-binding resolution that carries no legal weight — if that’s what Ciota is suggesting — is absurd.

This is America, and if the City Council wants to pass a resolution saying its doesn’t want Planned Parenthood opening up in its city, more power to it.

and they let the mayor have it:

And we were also surprised that Mayor Lisa Wong did not attend the portion of the City Council meeting dealing with Planned Parenthood, and believe that she had a responsibility to tell residents how she felt about the issue. She later told us she’d rather see the agency locate somewhere else in the city.

The paper knows that this fight isn’t over. The people need to know that too.

Zombies!!: Amazon Review

Posted: February 7, 2010 by datechguy in amazon reviews, gaming, hobbies
Tags: , ,

My review of the board game Zombies!! is available at Amazon.com here.

It should be pointed out that this game predates the movie Zombieland by a good many years. It’s not as funny but it’s pretty good.